Gearing Up For Camp NaNo

I can’t believe how quickly this year is slipping by! It’s already almost April! Which, of course, means the first 2015 Camp NaNoWriMo. Last year was my first year attempting the camps, and I was only working part time during April and not at all during July. This year I’m back at work full time, so it’s going to be interesting to see how well I do.

(I’m not expecting too many troubles -I’ve completed November NaNo’s while working, and one I completed in 15 days because I was out of town for 2 weeks).

This year I’m also going to try and raise some money for Camp NaNo. You can find my fundraising page here, and I hope you’ll consider supporting me and the wonderful National Novel Writing Month. Because of how long I’ve been off work, there isn’t a lot of money for me to personally donate (but I will donate something once I get that first paycheck). Which is why I’m hoping all you amazing interweb people will help!

Now, I’ve offered friends and family bribes for their help. Baked goods, sneak peaks at my work, and similar rewards. I’d like to be able to offer rewards to everyone who helps, but I don’t have much I can send to y’all. I could do bookmarks, sketches, maps, and similar quasi-literary type things (that way I can email you your reward), but would people be interested in that sort of thing? Definitely let me know if you are!

 

But, this is supposed to be able getting ready for Camp NaNo!

Last year I entered with absolutely zero prep. I decided in the final week of March that I was going to do the camp. I spent my week scrambling for an old story idea that I wanted to just completely scrap and start over. This year, I’m doing a bit more prep than that.

Partly because I’m doing a full rewrite of Legend’s Legacy. So I’ve got the second draft, all my research, some critiques I’ve had done on parts of the second, and a strong desire to get it done and make it right. Oh, and of course my playlist of awesome and inspiring music!

What types of things do you do to prepare for NaNo? (If you don’t NaNo, then what do you do to prepare for a new writing project?)

Leave a Reply

