NaNo’s Half Over?

Or, it will be tomorrow. Can you believe it? The month is half gone! Crazy, right?

So how are all the wrimos out there doing? Where is your word count sitting at?

Personally, I’ve already hit the 50,000 words NaNo requires (non-crazy people, or at least, the less-crazy people are supposed to have 23,333 words today). While NaNo supplies a nice little writing tracker on their site, I use my own that I made in MS Excel (because that’s how I roll). I feel it predicts and displays my writing trend better. In the below image, the red line is the required amount of 1,667 words a day to hit 50,000 by the end of the month. The blue line is what I’ve actually written, and the gold line is what was projected for each day (based on previous days’ writing).

My past four wins (Legend’s Legacy was 2012, Runner 5 was 2013, and Dawn Guardians and the Diary of Evynne Jeffries were both Camp NaNos this year) proved that hitting 50k isn’t all that difficult to me when I set my mind to it. Take a look at their charts.

LegendsLegacyChartRunner5Chart

DawnGuardiansChartDiaryEvynneJeffriesChart

 

Which is why I decided my goal this year is to finish the novel I’m working on (I’ve only finished Legend’s Legacy; though the Diary of Evynne Jeffries was close to being completed by the end of Camp). I estimated that I needed 135,000 words to finish Harpies’ Song, but… it’s looking like I vastly underestimated what I’m going to need. As you can see, I’m on track to hitting my bigger goal, but I haven’t been able to turn out a chapter a day, which is roughly what I needed to do to finish the novel (27 chapters). I’ve only got 4 chapters done, with my word count sitting at 56,796. Ugh… I don’t think I’m going to make it >.<

Here’s my chart for this year, adjusted for my 135k goal (as opposed to the 50k for a normal NaNo).

HarpiesSongChart

Finally, take a look at today’s excerpt:

Hazel quickly moved to her side, wrapping an arm around her waist as she helped her limp into the other room. Even though the ankle had slowed in its recovery, it was still a little better every day. She was hopeful that soon she would be able to make these short trips by herself. Though Doctor Elliot had cautioned that she wasn’t to try and get ahead of herself. He had all but told her that her efforts her first day in the castle had set her healing back significantly, and she was not to do something like that again.

The two men stood in the sitting room and gave her little bows when she appeared. She waved away their deference as she took a seat and they both sank onto different couches. “How may I help you, Lord Holliforth?” she asked, trying to keep a pleasant smile on her face and her voice even.

The wince he made let her know she hadn’t been entirely successful. The doctor glanced between the two of them, his whiskers twitching a little. “Perhaps I can explain,” he pipped up, nervously taking his spectacles off and wiping the glass on his robes.

“Please,” she gestured for him to continue.

“It has become quite clear that despite my warnings and your efforts, you are required to do more walking than is currently advisable,” he said as he returned his spectacles to their position on his nose. “As such, I thought it might be prudent to approach this problem from a… unconventional point of view.”

“This is where I come in,” Lord Holliforth gave her a small smile. “The good doctor approached me about the possibility of acquiring a potion or enchanted ointment that might speed your healing.”

“That sounds great,” she said, frowning between them a little. “But why did that require Lord Holliforth to come here?”

The two men exchanged a glance before the golden-skinned diplomat cleared his throat. “Unfortunately, such items are… unpredictable at best. Magic is not easily contained in perishable items,” he explained. “So I set about helping the good doctor do some magical research. After contacting some colleagues back in Afrye, I have procured a spell that will heal your ankle. If not completely, then so close as to not matter.”

Kaitlyn stared at him for a moment, unconsciously recoiling slightly. “You want to cast a spell on me?” she asked through gritted teeth.

“Yes,” he glanced at Doctor Elliot who merely shrugged. “I would also like to apologize for before. Seneschal Onan had misled me as to your character, and I am afraid that I simply took him at his word. It is both regretful and shameful that I did not wait to make a judgement for myself. Before I became a diplomat, I was a Justicator in Afrye. I realize that probably means very little to you, but it is a position of great respect and responsibility within the United Territories of Afrye. My primary responsibility as a Justicator was to ensure that justice was served in all cases. Often that meant rectifying the mistakes of overzealous or incompetent police. I swear, I dealt with the innocent far more often than the guilty.”

“Yet, you seemed to be quite… antagonistic towards someone you thought was guilty,” she pointed out.

He flushed, “I apologize again. In Afrye we strive to be a logical society, respecting order and abhorring chaos. Crime, especially murder, is chaotic and disruptive. Unfortunately not even us Justicators are exempt of prejudice, though we certainly try to be.”

“Princess Kaitlyn, I have known Lord Holliforth for a few years now,” Doctor Elliot put in. “He is an honourable man, and has been helpful whenever I have a question about magic. Even that which he is not necessarily familiar with. Perhaps he made an error in judgement, but he deserves a second chance.”

She sighed a little, “Alright. Will it hurt?”

“It shouldn’t,” he said, rising from his seat and moving to kneel beside her. “But I have never actually cast this particular spell before, so I can’t say with absolute certainty.”

“Just do it,” she gritted her teeth.

Nodding a little, he gently picked up her foot. Carefully, as if scared that her ankle might shatter in his hands, he unwrapped the binding, piling it messily on the low table. Placing a hand on either side of the ankle, he whispered a series of strange words. Unlike the harsh and guttural ones he had used to bind and force the truth out of her, this words were soft and lyrical. As he spoke, a red glow surrounded her ankle and his hands. Slowly at first, a tingling warmth penetrated her ankle. As the warmth increased it began to spread through her foot and up her leg. Kaitlyn bit her lip as her heart began to pound. Sweating, she gripped the edge of the couch, trying not to jerk her ankle out of Lord Holliforth’s hands. When the warmth became an intense heat she pressed a hand to her mouth, forcing the urge to vomit back. When he finally released her ankle, the heat and glow disappeared and she collapsed back into the couch cushions.

“Are you alright, Princess?” Doctor Elliot asked, moving to her other side. He placed a hand on her forehead, frowning as his eyes scanned her body.

If you like it and would like to read more, you can follow my progress here. I post the chapters as I finish them, which is about one every 3-4 days.

Leave a Reply

