Two Sentence Horror Stories

First of all… ugh, I can’t believe it’s been over a year since I last posted. Bad me.

Secondly, I’ve seen the reddit question of “What is the best horror story you can come up with in two sentences” posted around. On pinterest, Facebook, I think I first read about it on BuzzFeed, and I friend linked me to the “best” 20 of them just recently. So I got curious and decided to check out the original reddit thread. I was only able to get approximately 80% through the posts (not counting comments/replies) before I admitted defeat, so it’s very possible there were more great two sentence stories that I just didn’t see.

While it started a year ago, I think it’s a cool question and there are some great responses. Some of them are kind of “meh” (and there is a lot of repeating, bad jokes, and such), but many of them are horrifying, inspiring, or otherwise thought provoking. I would love to see some full length stories written using some of them as prompts. If I ever decide to write a true horror story I’m going to want to come back to these for ideas.

Note that I tried to take only the first time an idea was posted, and I avoided the posts that I realized were quoting from outside sources (like Hemingway, song lyrics, etc.) Here are the best of the rest (corrected only for minor grammatical mistakes). Enjoy!

  • You get home, tired after a long day’s work and ready for a relaxing night alone. You reach for the light switch, but another hand is already there. (by madamimadamimadam)
  • You mutter the words “hey dad” as you recognize the familiar figure of your father in the reflection of your laptop screen. A personalized ringing signifies a text from your dad, it reads “tell mom I’ll be home late”. (by meiguess)
  • After working a hard day I came home to see my girlfriend cradling our child. I didn’t know which was more frightening, seeing my dead girlfriend and stillborn child, or knowing that someone broke into my apartment to place them there. (by cobaltcollapse)
  • I kiss my wife and daughter goodnight before I go to sleep. When I wake up, I’m in a padded room and the nurses tell me it was just a dream. (by StoryTellerBob)
  • My daughter won’t stop crying and screaming in the middle of the night. I visit her grave and ask her to stop, but it doesn’t help. (by skuppy)
  • I only got two shots left, and I know just what I’m gonna do with them. One for that mutt of mine to stop the goddamned barking; and one for whatever it is he got cornered in that closet. (by DigitalGrampa)
  • When next you are completely alone, imagine you are listening to a sound of some kind. When that sounds seems to stop, you’ll know that you’ve been noticed. (by RamsesThePigeon)
  • Time stopped, the world stopped, everyone stopped but me. And whatever is following me, and it keeps getting closer, day after day. (by pyskoj3t)
  • James T. Cavor awoke and got the morning paper just like always. Upon reading it however, he noticed something very strange indeed: his own obituary. (by 16bitgamer)[–]
  • Attending his funeral today was really scary. It might have been the constant muffled screams I heard or the worry of someone noticing the dirt on my hands. (by abathingh)[–]
  • You hear your mom calling you into the kitchen. As you are heading down the stairs you hear a whisper from the closet saying “Don’t go down there honey, I heard it too.” (by comparativelysane)
  • It’s been nearly two hours since I woke up in that field and I’m still trying to figure out what happened or which way I should go. All I know right now is that every time I turn around it’s still there, watching me… (by woofdg79)
  • Being buried alive was bad enough. Realizing I wasn’t alone in my own grave was worse. (by harshcougar)
  • The grinning face stared at me from the darkness beyond my bedroom window. I live on the 14th floor. (by bentreflection)
  • At the sound of scratching, you get up to let the cat in the bedroom. With your hand on the knob, it meows, startling you, and you notice it’s already in the room. (by pickleprowler)
  • The doctors told the amputee he might experience a phantom limb from time to time. Nobody prepared him for the moments though, when he felt cold fingers brush across his phantom hand. (by Gagege)
  • I was having a pleasant dream when what sounded like hammering woke me. After that, I could barely hear the muffled sound of dirt covering the coffin over my own screams. (by vigridarena)
  • There is nothing as beautiful as a child’s laughter. Except that you live alone. (by mblack3)
  • “Mommy, the man in my closet says don’t cry. It won’t hurt for long.” (by mad_madam_meme)
  • Just as I drifted to sleep I heard and felt a soft thump from under the bed. I lay there trying to convince myself I imagined it when I slowly started to notice the slow steady rasp of breath beneath me. (by unknown)
  • You wake up and open your eyes feeling paralyzed. If only the coroner had realized this before starting the autopsy. (by thug4aday)[–]
  • Your stepfather is sneaking into your room again to say goodnight. As he presses his body against yours, you know you’ll always hate the smell of whiskey. (by incisorcist)
  • I’m reading on my couch with my back against the wall. Someone just tapped me on the shoulder and whispered, “Now…” (by KingPellinore)
  • She could clearly see it in the darkness, perched on the end of her bed, it had no face, just a mouth. She quickly blinked and it was no longer there, now it was sitting next to her. (by EVILB0NG)
  • The mother opened the door to the dark hospice room, expecting the usual scene of her daughter crying, weeping from her loneliness. But her daughter’s gaunt face was as calm as she’d ever seen it, as she whispered in quiet excitement to the shadows in the room’s corner. (by smurfetteshat)
  • The figure in the museum looked so fake that Bill jokingly tapped it on the shoulder. But then it turned around, and we found out it didn’t have any eyes. (by slides-like-penguin)
  • I glanced up from my phone to see that everyone else on the subway platform had gone completely still and were all turned to face me. That’s when they all started screaming. (by jbixler)
  • He came to my door near sunset, and put his cold hand in mine, whispering that he had seen “it” as he fell to the ground, dead. We still don’t know how he got out of the morgue. (by Philosophical_Robot)
  • It’s been watching me for hours now… Sometimes I catch glimpses of its reflection on the computer screen, but I dare not turn around… (by Ravn000)
  • Working the night shift alone tonight. There is a face in the cellar staring at the security camera. (by hctet)
  • Staring at the bottom of your box spring, you hear him drag your remaining roommate from her room to the bathtub as she screams. As you desperately choke down your sobs, you hear him clear his throat and say “don’t think I forgot about you….” (by smurfetteshat)
  • After so many years living alone in this large house I came to a startling revelation. In this time I had closed far more doors than I had opened. (by namelessuser)
  • I wake up and everything feels wrong; it’s too quiet outside. I look out the window and see everyone standing still, looking at my house. (by golfmade)
  • I had posted my greatest fear on a popular website. The man, who had me tied helplessly, had read it. (by Tomy2TugsFapMaster69)
  • My wife woke me up last night to tell me there was an intruder in our house. She was murdered by an intruder 2 years ago. (by The_D_String)
  • I saw my son; standing in the darkness, alone, afraid, screaming for his father. I turned before the train came; the wet sound of impact daring me to turn. (by crayonconfetti)
  • He awakes to silence in a complete and utter bloodbath, his wife nowhere to be seen. The last thing he remembers: the smell of burning flesh and the horrific screaming, muffled by the unmistakable sounds of a chainsaw. (by wisertime07)
  • The monsters are hiding under my bed again. What are they hiding from? (by aplus13)
  • She kissed me passionately, hands caressing my chest, lips locked to me. And as she pulled away, I was unable to even scream as my face went with her. (by Maridiem)
  • “When I get home, I’ll be safe from it” she thought, as she tried to shake the feeling that there was something following her down her empty street. She felt overwhelming relief as she slammed the door to her studio behind her, which she enjoyed for the split second before his cough disrupted the silence. (by smurfetteshat)
  • She wondered why she was casting two shadows. After all, there was only a single light bulb. (by pgan91)
  • About an hour or two after midnight, you suddenly wake up from a peaceful sleep to a sharp, splitting pain in your right leg. You lift your covers to see your pocket knife embedded in your flesh and the old teddy bear you threw away years ago lying next to it and covered in blood. (by SkyWorthy)
  • You wake up in the snowy woods, with footprints leading away from you. You follow the footprints only to find that they lead back to the place where you woke up. (by The_jimbles; not original author?)
  • His reputation as the best surgeon in the world is well-deserved. In a lesser talent’s hands, I would have died weeks ago and escaped his revenge. (by OddSteven)
  • He wakes up, on a dark night, to a drip hitting him on the nose. As his vision begins to focus, he makes out a bloody scribble on the ceiling: “I’m waiting.” (by BlazingSunshine)
  • I looked around the cabin and noticed hundreds of grotesque paintings with horribly angry faces that stared into your soul, just waiting for the chance to grab you with their disfigured hands and pull you into Hell. That’s when I realized there were no paintings in the cabin, only windows. (by Thatkidyouknow)
  • I feel the scalpel slice through my abdomen and I hear them comment on the appearance of my insides. I try to scream to get them to stop, but there is a tube shoved down my throat impeding on any noise I try to make. (by Mahatma_Panda)
  • Before I fell asleep my wife had been sitting before the fireplace, gently stroking our cat which was curled up on her lap. When I awoke the fire was dead, my wife’s hands were still, and what rested beneath them was not a cat. (by Drofmum)
  • Sarah had awoken sore after a night out she could no longer remember, desperately trying to summon the energy to leave the unfamiliar bed. Terrified, she realized she was chained down. (by smurfetteshat)
  • Don’t worry about the noises coming from the basement, child. No one’s looking for him anymore. (by N4UT1C4L)
  • Although dementia had long since reduced his brain to cobwebs, there were occasional moments of clarity. Today he grasped my hand tightly, stared with clear, lucid eyes, and whispered, ‘it’s standing right behind you.’ (by ThatConfoundedBridge)
  • When I was a child, I once woke up to my favorite bunny toy at the foot of my bed with its throat gouged open and its stuffing seeping out. A few moments later, as the closet creaked ever so slightly, and a slit of light from where the hinges bent entrenched its way towards my direction, I realized that this was going to be the last time that we were going to play. (by Manslayer37)
  • You look at your reflection in the bathroom mirror, when you see a deformed decomposing man standing behind you. You turn suddenly after your heart leaps into your neck – but nothing is there… something grabs you from behind. (by Pit_Droid)
  • I bang my fists against the mirror, hairline cracks sending shooting pains up my arms. Helpless, I watch him turn my body and leave the bathroom. (by ForerEffect)
  • I say goodbye to my arms as I crawl up his stairs without them. Quietly, quietly, in case he’s home. (by DrGomek)
  • We kept Bobby chained to the post in the basement for six days, but he just kept foaming at the mouth and flinging curses – he even refused to eat the food we put out for him. I nervously clasped and reclasped the axe daddy handed me, worrying that my sweaty hands would make me miss, though daddy said that if I missed the spot on the back of Bobby’s neck, he’d have me for sure. (by taladan)
  • The moonless night was made only darker by the inky trees around you reaching into the darkness and blotting out the stars; not even a wisp of air made a sound in the silent forest. That’s when it screamed. (by skintigh)
  • That heartbreaking song repeated on your wife’s old record player for days after her death, each tinny note amplified your guilt for what you had done to her. When you finally shoot yourself with your old hunting rifle the record comes to a stop, curiously it was never plugged in at all. (by obe1kenobi)
  • The rusty heat grate snapped downward without warning and she simply vanished from the rainy sidewalk. That it then swung quietly back into place was even more curious. (by tomparker)
  • I had always thought that the scariest sound would be someone trying to get into my room while I was sleeping. Tonight, however, I learned it was the creaking, slow breathing sound of someone already in the room trying to be perfectly silent. (by VodkaBarf)
  • I’m at home alone and about to go upstairs to sleep. I know I have to run up the stairs or she’ll try to drag me down again. (by fattycakerva)
  • Nobody visits this part of the cemetery anymore. That’s why I come here to keep him company. (by Iowa_Chuck)
  • I’m walking up the stairs from the basement, after turning the lights off. I hear a child call my name from the basement. (by Cover_Me)
  • “You were my mommy before the last time we died too,” your daughter tells you in a booming sing-song voice as she adjusts another puzzle piece. The light in her eyes seems to go out a moment later, as she whispers to you, “it’s going to be much more painful this time.” (by smurfetteshat)
  • I got off work a few minutes early and I couldn’t wait to get home and finally relax. As I unlocked the door, I didn’t even notice the hand reaching out from under the car. (by ruthlesspeacock)
  • As she brushed her hair before bed, the girl smiled at her own reflection in the mirror, thinking about all the fun she’d had that day. Her reflection stopped smiling and lowered the hairbrush. (by cultured_banana_slug)
  • You took a shortcut home, through the woods, but the darkness caught up with you quickly. You trip near a tree in your blindness, and you try to feel your way away from the roots, your hands running across dead leaves and finally a pair of fur-less, clawed, feet. (by Pheorach)
  • When our daughter came into our room, I asked her if it was a nightmare, to which she began crying and replied, “When you asked that in my dream, the thing wearing mommy’s skin tried to hurt you.” The covers began to rustle behind me. (by TedFoley)
  • My kid was afraid of the basement because of the boogeyman. I went down to prove him wrong, but then I found the man with the hysterical grin. (by PaulJoe4)
  • The tenant who used to live in my apartment room died from a miscarriage. Every night she asks me where her baby is. (by randomphilosopher)
  • The banging on the door came back last night. I had been hoping I wasn’t the one it wanted, but it’s already taken the remains of all the others, and it keeps coming back. (by HippieHippieShake)
  • “You can’t hurt me anymore,” he muttered, as he pulled the trigger and shot the mirror. Blood splattered out from the bullet hole, followed by an echoing thud. (by sargeantbuzzkil)
  • They’re inside you. Don’t disturb them and they won’t try to escape. (by ludlology)
  • Sometimes I feel them all around me, which terrifies me. When I don’t feel them, something much more sinister is present. (by RjoTTU-bio)
  • Tommy used to tell her about the monster under his bed. He disappeared last year, and tonight, for the first time, she saw the eyes. (by jwFrogYou)
  • Ever get that feeling that someone is standing behind you when you’re using the computer alone? Next time, instead of turning around, look up. (by mallsanta)
  • Don’t be scared of the monsters, just look for them. Look to your left, to your right, under your bed, behind your dresser, in your closet but never look up, she hates being seen. (by AnarchistWaffles)
  • You wake up facing your closet and its wide opened. You get up and close it, and on your way back to bed, you hear it re-open. (by xavierg67)
  • “You shouldn’t have messed with us” he says as he secures the clamp around my ankle, and pushes the large brick off the side of the ship. I don’t know what’s more cruel, that he’s drowning me, or that he fitted me with an oxygen tank so that there’s time for reality to really “sink” in. (by KogMoe)
  • I am the dark one that lives inside your closet. I can see you right now, but you can’t see me, until it is too late. (by Rachellybean)
  • You’re in an elevator when suddenly everything goes dark. As panic starts to set in, you feel what seem to be drops of unknown liquid on your shoulder and hear someone whisper your name from behind you. (by simoningarfunkel)
  • Remember the lake we strolled around on our first date? My husband goes fishing there sometimes, but luckily he’s never found your body. (by anytinganyting)
  • Your young daughter runs crying to you: “Daddy, there’s a monster in the closet!” But you know that isn’t possible– not since the incident… (by dripless_cactus)
  • I looked out my window across the field, and in the mix of moonlight and pouring rain I can see an old man, hunched over digging what looked like a wide grave. The old man turned his head, with one crack of lightning I saw his cracked yellow smile and puffy red eyes staring right at me. (by meltingmushrooms)
  • During 3 or 4 am last night, I woke up to the sounds of my young daughter laughing and giggling downstairs in our kitchen . As I got out of bed and begin to head downstairs, I notice as I pass her room that she is fast asleep under the covers…. (by zordie360)
  • My wife and two children died instantly in the collision that night. As for me, I can’t quite say what happened, but I can say that six feet of dirt sure does weigh down a coffin door. (by gibsoncoca)
  • As I looked into the lifeless eyes of my mother and father that the beast had arranged facing me before crawling under my bed, the message it had scrawled with their blood on my wall came into focus. “I know you’re awake.” (by DarthNobody)
  • The squeaking from the attic has never really bothered me, until one day when I was looking for my backpack up there and I found that a corner I had overlooked ever since I bought the house was filled with photos of me with my eyes cut out. Squeak. (by Loscaed)
  • That hellish, unearthly music continued to filter through the floorboards from the basement that he knew, beyond a shadow of a doubt, was empty. Mad desperation gripped him as he reached for the knife, determined to make it stop. (by groverXIII)
  • If I close my eyes and concentrate hard enough, I can see them. There are times though that if I do I do it for too long… they can see me too. (by Uzztea)
  • You finally seek refuge from a storm in a cave. You’re last flashlight flickers, just before it dies you’re able to make out five words written in blood on the cave wall, “THEY COME WITH THE DARKNESS”. (by Ryan2286)
  • She whispers, imploring me to finish eating as the light wicks slowly from her eyes. They watch for me to pause, to falter and I know they will not hesitate to kill me as well as her mother. (by LovecraftianJournal)
  • When her little boy had gone missing six months ago, she would have given anything to see him again. Now, staring at what was left of him, minced, sitting in a shoe box on her door step, she would have given anything to have never seen him again. (by avid_redditor)
  • It crawled out of her womb, slithered to the floor and plopped, splattering any nearby item with afterbirth. Its milky white eyes rolled around in its diseased sockets and finally found my face before rasping “Daddy…” (by testas22)
  • I could smell smoke, could feel the heat of the fire, and the sound of a baby crying. I rush to the infant and look inside the crib only to see a melted doll’s face, and then it blinked. (by akatherunt)
  • My wife began teaching a cooking class at the local community center back in 2006, and her most popular recipe, by far, was her Any-Meat chili, which, as you may have guessed, can be made with any type of meat. Last year, about a week after she taught this recipe in class, she received a text message that said “Any meat?”, which we laughed off and forgot about until two nights later when our 4 month old daughter was stolen from her crib… (by unknown)
  • Still have my legs, one arm, most of my torso and face left…they’ll keep me alive for at least a week. Unless they sell me off…god…she was so lucky her rot spread quickly. (by jkeyes525)
  • For months after it happened, every night I’d stand in front of the open door to my dead brother’s bedroom in my pajamas and peer, trembling, into the darkness where he killed himself. When the gaping demon rushed at me from the darkest corner, I’d flee across the hall to my bed to hide under the covers with Patches. (by Eliphion)
  • I wake up every morning to my wife smiling at me. Today’s the 2nd anniversary of her death. (by angelknight16)
  • Slowly I crawl for shelter just a few feet away. I feel lighter already, and as I ready for the final lunge I realize it has already devoured my legs, and methodically makes its way up consuming what’s left of me. (by Cpt_Westfort)
  • “Don’t worry, baby,” Mommy murmured as the man raised his gun and I buried my face in her shoulder, “I’ll do it.” The wind was knocked out of me as her knife dove in between my ribs. (by ice_cream_monday)
  • Whenever I played in the garden, the little girl next door wouldn’t stop staring at me through her bedroom window, blankly. 10 years later I came home from college to visit my parents, asked them how old the little girl next door was, they said no one has lived for decades. (by MetalKeirSolid)
  • I awoke from my nightmare drenched in sweat. I looked into the darkest corner of my room, and thats when I realised that it, too, had awaken. (by GlenNevis)
  • You ran out of food three days ago, and now all that’s left to do is gaze out your window at the dead streets below, listening to the weak pounding at your locked door. Sometimes, you’ll put your ear up to the door and listen, just to hear a multitude of raspy voices assure you, “it isn’t that bad”. (by Futhermucker)
  • Upon his death, Walter found himself disoriented in a small, dark room with a dim light shining on the door: “Welcome to Hell” scribed in blood. After days of nearly psychotic debate, Walter opened the door, walking through only to awaken on his deathbed, where he soon drew his last breath and found himself disoriented in a small, dark room with a dim light shining on the door: “Welcome to Hell” scribed in blood. (by TheDevilsCarnival)
  • They celebrated the first successful cryogenic freezing. He had no way of letting them know he was still conscious. (by KnowsGooderThanYou)
  • Neither of us had ever been in a situation where our lives were actually at risk so I can’t really blame him for being stunned. Though, at least I recognized the danger of exposing ourselves to it through a large & clear glass window. (by geneticethics)
  • I watched through the viewport as the last of my former crewmembers was jettisoned into vacuum. Just when I began to think I might get used to being alone for a while, I heard a voice call my name from somewhere else in the ship. (by voyagerhasleft)
  • “You smell different when you are awake,” said the odd man at my counter. I pressed the red button to the left of my chair. (by spudboy1)
  • When I was about 5, my best friend moved away quite suddenly. When I asked my mom what ever happened to him, my mom replied “You tell me, he was YOUR imaginary friend.” (by Chinstar)
  • The doctors told me I would slowly start to lose my hearing from the irreparable damage after the accident that killed my wife, like the voices of people around me would grow fainter and fainter. They didn’t tell me my wife’s voice would grow louder and louder, as she screamed, “Run! They’re coming back for you!” over and over again. (by KeysAndParrots)
  • I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy there’s somebody on my bed.” -Juan J Ruiz (by justAnotherMuffledVo)
  • I’ve been nailed to a wall for six months, the only thing she’s fed me is my own flesh. Today she showed me my reflection, I can see my spine but I’m so hungry. (by Tekn0mancer)
  • The last thing I saw was my alarm clock flashing 12:07 before she pushed her long rotting nails through my chest, her other hand muffling my screams. I sat bolt upright, relieved it was only a dream, but as I saw my alarm clock read 12:06, I heard my closet door creak open. (by jmperson)
  • I woke up to hear knocking on glass. At first, I thought it was the window until I heard it come from the mirror again. (by therealhatman)
  • This had been the first day in 75 years that no one had brought old Web Riden the name of an unborn child. And he could already hear the chattering death coming from the corn fields. (by Hendersonman)
  • Half awake I shuffled into the dark kitchen, tripping over the cat darting between my feet. It wasn’t until I’d stood in the pale light of the refrigerator for a few minutes that I remembered I didn’t have a cat. (by WizzleWall)
  • I don’t know how long we’ve been lying here. His body went cold so long ago, but I can’t let him go. (by FlyingJunkieBaby)
  • Don’t post here, you don’t know the whole deal. The stories you post, if horrifying enough, happen to you. (by therealhatman)
  • That thing I see out of the corner of my eye as I mow the cemetery grass is nothing. It agrees. (by Rettop)
  • The woman watched with both startled and confused eyes as her little boy ran away screaming and crying from his dad. “Honey, what’s the matter, what are you afraid of?” she asked him, and through terrified, tearful eyes he replied “The ugly man on daddy’s shoulders”. (by TheSweetieman)
  • I buried my head in my blanket as soon as I glimpsed the shadows passing my bedroom doorway. It did little to muffle my children’s pleas for help. (by CollardGreenJenkins)
  • I knew you’d read this, sadly there is no time for an explanation. They are coming, put your hands to your mirror and I’ll pull you through. (by technium)
  • The little boy had his father tie his tie the same way he always had. But as the fabric’s grip tightened and his feet left the ground, the little boy realized that something was very, very different. (by unknown)
  • You walk through your home and find a door you’ve never seen before. The knob twists. (by JackK3tch)
  • The heart of the forest was no colder than usual. Nonetheless, I clutched my rifle tightly to my chest and hoped to whatever deity was present that day that one of the creatures wouldn’t catch the scent of my fear. (by ThePraetor)
  • “I can’t sleep” she whispered, crawling into bed with me. I woke up cold, clutching the dress she was buried in. (by unknown)
  • The bruises on my arms and neck keep getting bigger. I wish she would stop staring in my window every night. (by jmperson)
  • The room felt cold as ice when I when I saw her. I hear her whisper my name, I lock her old bedroom door, tomorrow she will kill again; she can’t rest on her birthday (by Staplerman3)
  • I could see my shadow. In perfect darkness I could see my own shadow staring at me. (by Metal_Badger)
  • I turned the doll that sat in a chair across the room to make sure its face was away from me before I went to sleep. I awoke to the sight of a porcelain face looking at me from the edge of my bed. (by DeathGodBob)
  • Eyes glued to the moonlit yard, I nervously peered through the barely open blinds, seeking the source of the rustling in the shadow strewn landscape. After a time, satisfied in its cessation, I let out a sigh of relief, and as the wind across the back of my neck told me, so did it. (by TrueGrey)
  • With every step towards the edge, the land below the cliff seemed to sharpen, and a foreboding vigor welled up inside the solitary man. Crisp wind through the hair, between the sweaty fingers, the words “free will” guiding him towards what could be his final steps . . (by atcatc)[–]
  • Mother loved sitting in the patio outside to have her afternoon tea while she read scripture from the bible, sometimes pausing to gaze at the mountain side view. I never understood how she could concentrate over the painful screams of my little sister being cleansed in the basement. (by djchainsmok3r)
  • Living alone and accustomed to the sound, I ignored it when I heard my cat bump something in the living room. Then I noticed her beside me. (by TrueGrey)
  • For seven years my biggest joy each night is pulling my son’s covers over him to keep him warm after reading him one of his favorite stories. He’s been dead for five years. (by PurpsMaSquirt)
  • She awoke as he whispered her name quietly in her ear. How could he be in her bedroom when he was supposed to be on death row? (by DarkJoy86)
  • She reached out and took his limp, bloodied hand in hers, no longer surprised that it was still warm. All the others had been as well. (by primadonna68)
  • The pairs of emaciated eyes outnumber the single round in my gun. With pleading tears falling on her doll’s hair, I point the barrel at my last surviving daughter. (by yoshkow)
  • There is a reason why you wake up randomly in the middle of the night. Someone is looking at you. (by ilovecreamcheese)
  • What the little girl doesn’t know is that I buried him under the same oak I built her treehouse in. What she does seem to suddenly know are things I’ve only ever told HIM. (by Papabambam)
  • Thursday evening, as she usually did, Tim’s mother silently crept into his bedroom, tousled his hair, and tucked in his blankets. Her funeral had been the previous Sunday. (by stenseng)
  • As we swam around in the moonlit lake, I felt James’ fingers wrapped around my ankle in a menacing manner. I kicked at my underwater friend playfully until I heard him call from the dock, “What are you doing in there?” (by ANum8)
  • Marie stared lovingly at her husband who was standing in front of the window, holding her baby, and rocking it gently. When he looked up to stare at the moon through the window, the reflection she saw was of a total stranger. (by ANum8)
  • Fishing alone on the pier at night isn’t too bad. As I look into the dark water to find my reflection, a set of giant eyes look back. (by zzzbaaa)
  • They delivered the mannequins in bubble wrap. From the main room I begin to hear popping. (by Mikeyseventyfive)
  • The house was raided early this morning, and the backyard dug up immediately. The police found nothing but rows and rows of little shoes. (by Buliwyf)
  • I watched as lightning lit up my back yard in the late hours of the night, revealing what appeared to be a little girl standing still with her head down. I moved closer to the window and was relieved when the next flash of lightning assured me that there was nothing there, until I turned around. (by flyovertwice)
  • There was no-one outside. I closed and locked the door when I realised; you can knock from either side. (by samlev)
  • He dreamt of a foggy, flooded town filled with nothing but the echoes of his voice to keep him company. He had to find his baby sister in this desolate hell before he woke up. (by veraliis)
  • That man with the smile in the living room, he was there and then he wasn’t. I feel empty inside…what did he take? (by TheDemonClown)
  • In the whispers of night I watched them, from the little key hold in their old bedroom door, as they talked and laughed. I watched, waited, watched, and wished I knew their names. (by roundcircle)
  • It was three in the morning when I looked at the clock, this night the same as any other. I looked back into the barrel of my shotgun yet again, and shivered as I pulled the trigger for the fourth time remembering the pain that wouldn’t go away. (by amnSoldier)
  • At night, all the villagers close and bolt their doors and windows and try to sleep. It mimics the voices of the children it took (by Hotseflots)
  • They don’t try to get in. They know we’ll have to leave eventually. (by Advancedphish)
  • Today I woke up on fire. This would be less shocking had I not been shot in the head the day before. (by Just_Give_Me_A_Login)
  • Call me paranoid but I always make sure to check under the bed and behind the shower curtain. They are good hiding spots and I can’t afford to leave any survivors. (by Igloogreenhouse)
  • I don’t have some mental disease – this isn’t my family and I don’t know these people. The shovel I used on my… “daughter”… is the only thing I trust right now. (by Draxy_au)
5 thoughts on “Two Sentence Horror Stories

  1. Pingback: Hanging Out with Vidal Sassoon | monsterinthesuburbs.com

  2. Pingback: Book Review - The White Dress, The Autumn Leaves - My Writer's Cramp

  3. Pingback: Flash Fun-Trust Me | jean's writing

  4. Pingback: Our Young and Unexpected Visitor: Not Another Halloween Ghost Story Part I - WriteForMe

Leave a Reply

