Finding Inspiration

So as anybody who has ever experienced writer’s block knows, finding inspiration can be difficult. Too little and it doesn’t help, too much and you’re distracted. Some people like looking at art or images, others watch specific videos, some read, and some use music.

Personally I’ve used a bit of each in my time. It depends on my mood and what half-formed ideas are floating around in my head. Earlier today I was listening to Everyday Superhero (Smash Mouth) and something about the song just clicked with a dream I had the other night and bam! Plot formed! Of course it doesn’t always happen this way, and you can’t really force it.

In NaNo there is talk of Plot Bunnies and Plot Ninjas (I’ve postulated a Plot Bunja, as the furry ninja turned up for me in November to help with my story) -the embodiment of the types of inspiration. Sometimes though, it isn’t full on writer’s block… sometimes a burst of inspiration won’t help because it’s more motivation block than anything else. I’ve been experiencing this quite a bit myself lately.

But I think I may have a cure! 🙂

Inspiring/motivating soundtracks!

Check these pretty epic songs out (youtube can be so helpful sometimes) and let me know if they work for you like they do for me.

  • Alan Silvestri – Sandcastles (the Mummy Returns)
  • Alan Silvestri – Journey to Transylvania (Van Helsing)
  • Daft Punk – the Game Has Changes (Tron)
  • Hans Zimmer – A Way of Life (Last Samurai)
  • Hans Zimmer – Time (Inception)
  • Hans Zimmer – Discombobulate (Sherlock Holmes)
  • Harry Gregson – Arrival at Aslan’s How (Prince Caspian)
  • Harry Gregson – Prince Caspian Flees (Prince Caspian)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Courtyard Apocalypse
  • Howard Shore – Bridge of Kazad Dum (Lord of the Rings)
  • Kick Ass – Flying Home
  • Michael Giacchino – Enterprising Young Men (Star Trek)
  • Shadow of the Colossus – Roar of the Earth Soundtrack Medley
  • Two Steps From Hell – Am I Not Human
  • Two Steps From Hell – Archangel
  • Two Steps From Hell – Cassandra
  • Two Steps From Hell – Femme Fatale
  • Two Steps From Hell – He Who Brings the Night
  • Two Steps From Hell – Immortal
  • Two Steps From Hell – Moving Mountains
  • Game of Thrones Soundtrack
  • Reavers Chase Serenity (Firefly)
  • The Serenity (Firefly)

Post in the comments any other songs you like to listen to when you’re writing, drawing, creating! I’d love to hear them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

